Kendall County, IllinoisEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png IllinoisGotoarrow.png Kendall County

Guide to Kendall County Illinois genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Illinois
Online Records


Kendall County, Illinois
Map
Boundary map of Kendall County, Illinois
Map of the U.S. highlighting Illinois
Location of Illinois in the U.S.
Facts
Founded: February 19, 1841
County Seat Yorkville
Courthouse
Kendall County Courthouse.gif
Photo courtesy Illinois Regional Archives Depository, Illinois State Archives
Address Kendall County Courthouse
111 W. Fox Street
Yorkville, IL 60560
630-553-4104
Kendall County Website
 


Contents

County Organization

Kendall County's civil records start the following years:

                                     Beginning Dates for Kendall County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1877
1835
1877
1850
1839
1847

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Kendall County are kept, see the Kendall County Courthouse page.

Historical Facts

Amos kendall.jpg

Kendall County is named for Amos Kendall who was a journalist and statesman and served as U.S. Postmaster General under Andrew Jackson and Martin Van Buren.

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Prior to County Formation

County Formation and After

  • 1841 - Kendall County created from LaSalle and Kane counties

For more information see Origin and Evolution of Illinois Counties or Kendall County Fact Sheet (Illinois State Archives). For interactive county boundary maps see Illinois County Boundaries, 1790-Present, Illinois Historical Counties

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Illinois counties see: Illinois Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Oswego, Yorkville (county seat), Plano, Sandwich (portion), Joliet (portion), Montgomery (portion), Boulder Hill (unincorporated), Plainfield (portion), Lisbon, Newark, Millbrook

Neighboring Counties

Records and Resources

Biography

  • The Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois has a Kendall County edition. This includes a state history section along with a county history and biographies of Kendall County residents. See the wiki article for links to available copies and indexes.

Cemeteries

Illinois cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1850 7,730
1860 13,074 69.1%
1870 12,399 −5.2%
1880 13,083 5.5%
1890 12,106 −7.5%
1900 11,467 −5.3%
1910 10,777 −6.0%
1920 10,074 −6.5%
1930 10,555 4.8%
1940 11,105 5.2%
1950 12,115 9.1%
1960 17,540 44.8%
1970 26,374 50.4%
1980 37,202 41.1%
1990 39,413 5.9%
2000 54,544 38.4%
2010 114,736 110.4%
Source: "American FactFinder". United States Census Bureau.

Church History and Records

Church records may give birth, death and marriage information. It is usually best to locate church records with a search at a local level such as the city, town, or village.

  • Search WorldCat to identify a library near you which holds books of compiled church records for Kendall County.

Court Records

Ethnic Research

African American

The following have information concerning African American research.

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed online or through the Family History Library.

Copies of original records

Abstracts

  • Family Maps of Kendall County, Illinois (2005) plats the land of many nineteenth-century Kendall County residents. The publisher's bookstore includes a free online surname index. FHL Book 977.3263 E7b

Online Resources

  • 1800s-Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a research establish location and lead to National Archives' records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are housed at the National Archives.
  • Illinois Public Land Purchase Records This record extract includes over 538,000 land sales from the 19th Century. Each entry includes the purchaser's name, purchase date, number of acres, price per acre, and in some cases the purchaser's sex and residence. Available at www.ancestry.com ($)

Additional Resources

Additional resources for Kendall County land and property may be found in the FamilySearch Catalog, FamilySearch Catalog–map indexes and FamilySearch Catalog–maps. Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Maps

Ilkendall.jpg

Military

War of 1812

Dickson, Elmer George Kendall County veterans of the Civil, Mexican & Spanish-America wars and the War of 1812 (Chico, California: E. Dickson, c1993) pages 39 FHL Book 977.3263 M2

Civil War

Civil War service men from Kendall County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Kendall County.

- 4th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company C (Also known as Dollins' Cavalry Company).
- 15th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company I.
- 20th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- 36th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies D, E, F, and I.
- 89th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- 91st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company E.
- 127th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, F, and K.
- 132nd Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company C.
- 141st Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company F.
- 147th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company C.

Naturalization

Newspapers Obituaries

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Illinois Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

County Courthouse

County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Kendall County are kept, see the Kendall County Courthouse page.

Family History Center

Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah (United States) and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources to assist you in the research and study of your genealogy.


You may search your address for a center near you on the FamilySearch site.

Currently there are no Family History Centers located directly in Kendall County. The following centers are located in surrounding counties. Their wiki pages may supply hours and other information.

Dekalb Illinois Family History Center
675 Fox Avenue
Sycamore, Illinois 60178
Telephone: (815) 895–0702
Joliet Illinois Family History Center
655 Springfield
Joliet, Illinois, 60435
Telephone: (815) 725-8621
Morris Illinois Family History Center
1414 Dupont Ave.
Morris, Illinois 60450
Telephone: (815) 941-4214
Naperville Illinois Family History Center
1320 Ridgeland Road
Naperville, Illinois
Telephone: (630) 505-0233
Ottawa Illinois Family History Center
1377 Adams Street
Ottawa, Illinois
Telephone: (815) 431-0186

Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)

The Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), managed by the Illinois State Archives, houses the archival records of local Illinois counties, townships, municipalities and school districts. The seven Regional Depositories are housed on state university campuses scattered throughout Illinois.

The Northern Illinois University (IRAD-NIU) holds the records for Kendall County. Learn more about finding and using their records.

Illinois Regional Archives Depository
c/o Regional History Center
Founders Memorial Library, Room 400
Northern Illinois University
DeKalb, IL 60115
Telephone: (815) 753-1807

Public Libraries

The following Kendall County libraries have collections of particular interest to genealogists.

Oswego Public Library District
32 W. Jefferson St.
Oswego, IL 60543
Telephone: (630) 554-3150
Volunteers from the Fox Valley Genealogical Society assist researchers with the Local History and Genealogy Collection at designated times.
Plano Community Library District
15 N. Center
Plano, IL 60545
Telephone: (630) 552-2009
Their Local History collection includes histories, directories, cemetery records, church and school records, and more.
Yorkville Public Library
902 Game Farm Road
Yorkville, IL 60560
Telephone: (630) 553-4354
The library has microfilms of census records and The Kendall County Record newspaper.

Other Repositories

Little White School Museum
Box 23
72 Polk Street
Oswego, IL 60543
Telephone (630) 554-2999
The museum holds records of local interest, including indexes, histories, maps, photos, and more. Check in advance for their limited hours.

Social Groups Online

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.


Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Kendall County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.

The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Northern Illinois University (NIU) - search for Kendall County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.

General

Births

Copies of Original Birth Records

Online Resources

Marriages

Copies of Original Marriage Records

Online Resources

Deaths

Copies of Original Death Records

Online Resources


Additional Resources

Additional resources for Kendall County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Kendall – Vital Records, the Illinois, Kendall – Vital Records - indexes, and the Illinois, Kendall – Vital Records - newspapers topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Copies of records on FHL microfilm and microfiche can be ordered for viewing at Family History Centers. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the Worldcat Online Catalog.

Web Sites

References



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 16:34.
  • This page has been accessed 7,035 times.