Kenderchurch, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Kenderchurch, Herefordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kenderchurch, Herefordshire
Kenderchurch St Mary Herefordshire.jpg
Kenderchurch St Mary Herefordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Dore PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1757
Bishop's Transcripts: 1661
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Archenfield
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KENDER-CHURCH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Dore, hundred of Webtree, county of Hereford, 11 miles (S. W.) from Hereford. The parish is intersected by the road from Hereford to Abergavenny, and also by a tramway which runs parallel with the road. The church is beautifully situated on an eminence, and commands extensive views of picturesque scenery. [1]

Kenderchurch is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Herefordshire, created in 1750 from chapelry in Kentchurch, Herefordshire Ancient Parish. The village and civil parish of Kenderchurch is in southern Herefordshire.

The church of St Mary has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Kenderchurch St Mary

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. 

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers and Bishop's transcripts

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dore Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Kenderchurch/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 646-652. Accessed and adapted 27 Feb 2013
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 November 2014, at 02:43.
  • This page has been accessed 921 times.