Kennebec County, MaineEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Kennebec County Maine genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Maine Gotoarrow.png Kennebec County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Maine
Online Records
Kennebec County, Maine
Map
Map of Maine highlighting Kennebec County
Location in the state of Maine
Facts
Founded February 20, 1799
County Seat Augusta
Courthouse
Address County Courthouse
95 State Street
Augusta, ME 04330-5611
Phone: 207.622.0971
Kennebec County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Register of Deeds has land records from 1799. Probate Court has probate records from 1799. Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.[1]

History

Parent County

Created 20 February 1799 from Lincoln County.[1]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places / Localities

MaineKennebec CountyAndroscoggin CountySagadahoc CountyLincoln CountyKnox CountyWaldo CountySomerset CountyFranklin CountyClintonUnity TownshipBentonAlbionWinslowWatervilleOaklandRomeViennaFayetteMount VernonBelgradeSidneyVassalboroChinaWindsorAugustaManchesterReadfieldWayneWinthropMonmouthLitchfieldWest GardinerFarmingdaleHallowellChelseaRandolphGardinerPittstonWoolwichPerkins TownshipBowdoinhamRichmondBowdoinLisbonAuburnLewistonSabattusWalesGreeneTurnerLeedsLivermoreLivermore FallsJayChestervilleWiltonFarmingtonNew SharonIndustryNew VineyardStrongMercerStarksAnsonMadisonNorridgewockSmithfieldFairfieldSkowheganCornvilleHartlandCanaanPittsfieldPalmyraDetroitTroyBurnhamUnityFreedomMontvillePalermoLibertySomervilleHibbert's GoreAppletonWashingtonUnionWarrenFriendshipWhitefieldJeffersonNobleboroWaldoboroBremenDamariscottaBristolNewcastleAlnaWiscassetDresden
Modern town borders in Kennebec County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.

Towns

Extinct Towns and Plantation[2]

Dearborn | Harlem | Unity Plantation[3]

Unorganized territory:  Unity Township (formerly Unity Plantation). For further details see Maine townships.

Communities   • Clinton   • Farmingdale   • Oakland   • Winthrop

Villages   • Libby Hill   • South China

Neighboring Counties

Androscoggin | Franklin | Lincoln | Sagadahoc | Somerset | Waldo

Resources

Cemeteries

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

Court

Gazetteers

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Maine Land and Property for additional information about early Maine land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kennebec County, Maine. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Maine Local Histories.

Maps

Mekennebec.jpg

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Kennebec County, Maine served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Kennebec County, Maine:

- 1st Battalion, Maine Light Artillery, 2nd BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("B")1st Battalion, 3rd BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("C")1st Battalion, 4th BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("D"), 5th BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("E"), 6th BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("F")1st Battalion, and 7th BATTERY LIGHT ARTILLERY ("G")
- 1st Regiment, Maine Cavalry
- 16th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Company B.

Newspapers

Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Dark thin font green pin Version 4.png
Early Maine newspapers routinely reported on news, obituaries, births, marriages etc. from around the state. Be sure to search the indexes for all Maine newspapers to find your target ancestor.

Augusta, Kennebec County, Newspaper Archive:

Age. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1832-1861. at GenealogyBank. $
Herald of Liberty. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1810-1815. at GenealogyBank. $
Kennebec Gazette. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1810-1815. at GenealogyBank. $

Hallowell, Kennebec County, Newspaper Archive:

American Advocate. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1809-1835. at GenealogyBank. $
Hallowell Gazette. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1814-1827. at GenealogyBank. $
Maine Cultivator and Hallowell Gazette. Indexes Free, Digital Pages $. 1839-1870. at GenealogyBank. $

Finding More Maine Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kennebec County, Maine newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records for Washington County, Maine can be found at https://familysearch.org/search/collection/1930294

Taxation

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Societies and Libraries

Family history Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 1.2 1.3 1.4 1.5 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 304. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Before an extinct town (or plantation) was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  3. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 101. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 23:36.
  • This page has been accessed 8,505 times.