Kent Church RecordsEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to  Kent go to  Kent Church Records

Canterbury Cathedral - Portal Nave Cross-spire.jpg

Contents

Original Records

Records of the Church of England parishes are deposited in several record repositories in Kent.  The first two in the list hold the records of the majority of parishes, and the others hold records for specific areas.  Click on a repository link to go to their website and online catalogues:

Parish Registers

Images of many of Kent's parish registers are available online at findmypast and at FamilySearch:

Baptisms

England Births and Christenings, 1538-1975 includes 4,008,751 Kent baptisms. Formerly known as the International Genealogical Index. These databases are free on FamilySearch. Coverage.

101 Kent parishes are indexed in Kent Baptisms (£).[1]

292,808 Kent entries are included in England & Wales Christening Records, 1530-1906 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[2]

Marriages

England Marriages, 1538-1973 includes 1,710,700 Kent entries.

32% of Kent's parishes are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index (£). Coverage.[3]

47,403 Kent entries are included in England & Wales Marriages, 1538-1940 at Ancestry (£). Formerly known as British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Coverage.[4]

Burials

Burials from 44 Kent places (156,783 entries) are included in the National Burial Index (£). Coverage.[5]

England Deaths and Burials, 1538-1991 includes 1,825,326 Kent burials.

Marriage Licences

88,166 Canterbury marriage licences are indexed in Boyd's Marriage Index at FindMyPast ($) covering the years 1568 to 1751.[3]

Canterbury marriage licences have been published:

Diocese of Rochester marriage allegations (1637-1639, 1715-1716, 1731-1742, 1748-1798) have been digitized, but not indexed. The images are included in the England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 Collection at FamilySearch - free.

References

  1. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records,' Find My Past, accessed 2 September 2013.
  2. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' British Origins, (Wayback Machine) accessed 31 August 2013.
  4. 'Genoot Library - British Isles Vital Record Index Breakdown,' Genoot, accessed 1 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 1 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:55.
  • This page has been accessed 3,101 times.