Kent County, Rhode IslandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Rhode Island Gotoarrow.png Kent County

Guide to Kent County, Rhode Island ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

This article is about a county in the state of Rhode Island. For other uses, see Kent (disambiguation).
link=http://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/Rhode Island_Online_Genealogy_Records Rhode Island
Online Records


Kent County, Rhode Island
Map
Map of Rhode Island highlighting Kent County
Location in the state of Rhode Island
Facts
Founded June 11, 1759
County Seat
Courthouse
Named for: Kent, England

Contents

County Courthouse

Kent County Courthouse
222 Quaker Lane;
West Warwick, RI 02893
Phone: 401.841.835 

(Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial, probate and land records
 
(Five twns in Kent Co) Towns Organized Before 1800; Coventry 1741, East Greenwich 1677, Warwick 1642-3, West Greenwich 1741

There is no county government. The government is located at town and state levels.

Quick Facts

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: Kent_County, Rhode Island

Named for County of Kent, England.

Parent County

11 June 1759: Created from the Providence Plantations. [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Rhode Island County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Rhode Island County Boundary Maps" (1643-1963) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

  • Lost census: 1890

Places / Localities

Rhode IslandConnecticutKent CountyWashington CountyNewport CountyProvidence CountyBristol Co.New London CountyWindham CountyCoventryWest GreenwichEast GreenwichWest WarwickWarwickFosterScituateJohnstonCranstonProvidenceEast ProvidenceExeterRichmondNorth KingstownBarringtonPortsmouthJamestownVoluntownSterlingKillingly
Modern towns and cities in Kent County, Rhode Island. Click map to go to each respective town page.


Resources

Archives and Libraries

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Kent County, Rhode Island census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.

Church

Court

Land

History

Maps

Rikent.jpg

Military History and Records

Newspapers

Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Rhode Island Vital Records, order electronically online or download an application for Rhode Island Birth Certificate, Marriage Certificate, Death Certificate Application to mail.

Societies, Libraries and Museums

See also a List of Rhode Island Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Family History Centers

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 December 2014, at 17:54.
  • This page has been accessed 6,304 times.