Kenton, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Gotoarrow.png Suffolk Parishes

Guide to Kenton, Suffolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kenton, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loes
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Plomesgate PLU
Registration District Plomesgate
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hoxne
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Suffolk
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KENTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Plomesgate, hundred of Loes, E. division of Suffolk, 2¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Debenham. [1]


Resources

If you live in Suffolk then you will have access to a variety of resources; however , for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers. Refer to Kenton and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalog for available records.

Civil Registration

Kenton is in Plomesgate District. Kenton is detached part of Plomesgate district. It is in Loes Hundred. To the north and east is Hoxne district; to the south is Bosmere district; to the west is Hartismere district. To search an index of Plomesgate district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Kenton, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
Kenton, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1814-1836
BOYD
1539-1754

IGI 1538-1876 1538-1848
NBI

1538-1901

The Parish Registers begin in 1538. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. For pre 1813 Bishop Transcript entries you will need to look in Hoxne Deanery, Archdeaconry of Suffolk. Parish Chest records are lacking for Kenton. See Suffolk Church Record for further details. The Suffolk Family History Society has published a CD containing the baptisms for every parish in Hoxne Deanery covering the time period of 1813 to 1900.

Census records

There are census records available for Kenton from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Kenton, England, Census in the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details.

Probate records

Prior to 1858 the primary court that had jurisdiction over Dennington was the Archdeaconry of Suffolk; however, a person’s will or administration may have been probated in nearby courts or even in London. After 1858 it was in Ipswich District. Refer to the Suffolk Probate Records article for further details.

Maps and Gazetteers

  • Suffolk Gazetteers and Directories from 1839 to 1909 - Suffolk Gazetteers and directories provide a brief history and description of each parish and lists principal residents. They mention the farmers and tradesman in each parish and the nearest market towns among other items.
  • National Gazetteers provide a brief description of each place
    • Kenton, is a parish and a village, in Plomesgate district, Suffolk; it is 2½ miles NE of Debenham, and 6 miles WNW of Framlingham railway station. [6]
    • KENTON (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Plomesgate, hundred of Loes, E. division of Suffolk, 2¼ miles (N. N. E.) from Debenham.[7]

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-663. Date accessed: 16 May 2014.
  2. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Suffolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 10 December 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.
  6. 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales .
  7. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 659-663.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 982 times.