Kentucky CensusEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  go to  U.S. Census  go to  Kentucky  go to  Census

Contents

Tips
  • If at first you don't find a name, try again under another spelling.
  • Photocopy each ancestor's census. Identify where you found it.
  • Look for an ancestor in every census during her or his lifetime.
  • On the family group record show each person's census listings.
  • Study others in the same household, neighbors, and anyone with the similar names nearby on the census in community context.
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

  • For a list of the exact date of each federal census, click here.

Online Kentucky indexes and images

1880-1840

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Kentucky 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1940 indexes Link - Link
Link
- - Link Link Link - -
images Link - Link
Link
Link
- - Link Link Link Link Link
1930 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link
images - Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1920 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1910 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1900 indexes Link Soundex - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
partial 1880 indexes Link Soundex
- Link - Link Link Link Link -
images - Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link

1810-1870

Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Kentucky 
  Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* Pay
Family
Search[1]
Internet Archive[2]  Misc.  Heritage Quest[3] Fold3[4] Ancestry FHL[5] Ancestry Library[5] Ancestry Home[5] Archives[6] Family Link[7]
1870 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1860 indexes Link - - Link Link Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link Link Link Link Link - Link
1850 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1840 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1830 indexes Link - - - - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1820 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
1810 indexes Link - - Link - Link Link Link Link -
images Link Link - Link - Link Link Link - Link
  Family Search Internet Archive Misc.  Heritage Quest Fold3 Ancestry FHL  Ancestry Library  Ancestry Home Archives Family Link
Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) Pay


Federal population schedules

Microfilm images

Federal Census Microfilms Available from the Family History Library
1940 N/A 1910 and Soundex 1870            
1930 1900 and Soundex 1860
1920 and Soundex 1880 and Soundex  1850
     


Federal Census Microfilms Available from the National Archives
1940 N/A 1910 T624   Soundex T1266 1870 M593         1840 M704
1930 T626 1900 T623   Soundex T1047 1860 M653 1830 M19
1920 T625 and Soundex M1563 1880 T9  Soundex T750 1850 M432 1820 M33
      1810 M252

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Kentucky, click here

Federal non-population schedules

Online indexes and images

Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Kentucky

Free Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) Pay
Year Type Record Search Census Bureau Google Book Heritage Quest Ancestry FHL Ancestry Library Ancestry Home
1890 Veterans Link - - - Link Link Link
1880 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1870 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1860 Slave owner - - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1860 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1850 Slave owner Link - - Link[8] Link Link Link
1850 Mortality Link - - - Link Link Link
1840 Pensioners Link BookLink BookLink - Link Link Link

Microfilm images

  • 1890 Veterans United States. Census Office. 11th Census, 1890. Schedules Enumerating Union Veterans and Widows of Union Veterans of the Civil War. National Archives Microfilm Publications, M0123. Washington, DC: National Archives, 1948. (On 118 Family History Library films, beginning with 338160). Family History Library films for Kentucky are 338160–2. Each schedule may contain the following information: the veteran’s name (or if he did not survive, the names of both the widow and her deceased husband); rank; company; regiment or vessel; date of enlistment and discharge; length of service in years, months, and days; post office and address; and disabilities incurred. The schedule also contains remarks necessary for a complete statement of his term of service. Many Confederate veterans were accidentally enumerated.
Year KY Mortality Schedules FHL Film
1850 Pendleton-Woodford 422419
1860 Adair-Woodford 422420
1870 Adair-Jefferson 422421
1870 Jessamine-Woodford 422422
1880 [Aaron-Meredith] 422423
1880 [Meridan-Zwicky] 422424
1880 Adair-Jackson 422425
1880 Jefferson-Mason 422426
1880 Meade-Woodford 422427


Non-Population Schedules Kentucky Slave Schedules Film Number 
1850 Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Casey 442991
1850 Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin, Fulton 442992
1850 Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harlan, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jefferson 442993
1850  Jessmine, Johnson, Kenton, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, McCracken, Madison, Marion, Marshall, Mason, Meade, Mercer 442994
1850 Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Russell, Scott, Shelby, Simpson 442995
1850 Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Whitley, Woodford 442996
1860 Adair, Allen, Anderson, Ballard, Barren, Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Boyd, Boyle, Bracken, Breathitt, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Butler, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carroll, Carter, Casey 803401
1860 Christian, Clark, Clay, Clinton, Crittenden, Cumberland, Daviess, Edmonson, Estill, Fayette, Fleming, Floyd, Franklin 803402
1860 Fulton, Gallatin, Garrard, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Green, Greenup, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Hart, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jackson, Jefferson 803403
1860 Jessamine, Johnson, Kenton, Knox, Larue, Laurel, Lawrence, Letcher, Lewis, Lincoln, Livingston, Logan, Lyon, McCracken, McLean, Madison, Magoffin, Marion 803404
1860 Marshall, Mason, Meade, Mercer, Metcalfe, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Owsley, Pendleton, Perry, Pike, Powell, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Scott, Shelby 803405
1860 Simpson, Spencer, Taylor, Todd, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Whitley, Woodford  803406

Indexes: fiche, film, or book

For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Kentucky, click here.

State, territorial, and colonial censuses

Kentucky often took censuses in the years between the federal censuses, the dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.

  • 1819-1820 Northern Kentucky town censuses[9] including Boone, Campbell, and Kenton counties

School Censuses

  • 1870-1936 (mostly 1895-1910) school censuses for many Kentucky counties. School censuses, where they exist, may only be available at local boards of education. A few are at the Kentucky State Archives, Kentucky Historical Society, or Family History Library.[10]
Selected County School Censuses

Census Substitutes

  • 1787-1811 tax lists[11]
  • 1800 tax lists[12] - Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • 1795 tax lists[13]
  • 1790 tax lists[14]
  • 1787 tax lists[15] In 1787 part of Virginia included what is now Kentucky.

Existing and lost censuses

For a list of available and missing Kentucky censuses, click here.

Why use a census?

A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.

More about censuses

Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:

Sources and footnotes

  1. 1.0 1.1 FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses, including an index of the 1880 federal census of the United States; connected with 1880 census images provided by Ancestry.com, a subscription site.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
  3. 3.0 3.1 HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
  4. 4.0 4.1 Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
  5. 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 5.5 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
  6. 6.0 6.1 Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
  7. 7.0 7.1 FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
  8. 8.0 8.1 HeritageQuest has slave owner schedule images only.
  9. Stephen W. Worrel, Northern Kentucky : towns census of 1819 and 1820 ([Falls Church, Virginia] : S.W. Worrel, 1993) [FHL Book 976.9 A1 no. 477].
  10. Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 47.
  11. James F. Sutherland, Early Kentucky householders, 1787-1811 (Baltimore : Genealogical Pub., 1986) [FHL Book 976.9625 R4s].
  12. Garrett Glenn Clift, Second census of Kentucky : a privately compiled and published enumeration of tax payers appearing in the 79 manuscript volumes extant of tax lists of the 42 counties of Kentucky in existance in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Genealogical Pub., 1966) [FHL Book 976.9 X2p 1800; Film 390838]. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
  13. T.L.C. Genealogy, The 1795 census of Kentucky (Miami Beach, Florida: TLC Genealogy, c1991) [FHL Book 976.9 R48t].
  14. Charles B. Heinemann, First census of Kentucky, 1790 (1940; reprint, Baltimore, Maryland : Genealogical Pub., 1965) [FHL Book 976.9 X2ph 1790; Film 1440537 Item 17].
  15. Netti Schreiner-Yantis, and Florene Speakman Love, The 1787 census of Virginia : an accounting of the name of every white male tithable over 21 years, the number of white males between 16 and 21 years, the number of slaves over 16 and those under 16 years, together with a listing of their horses, cattle and carriages, and also the names of all persons to whom ordinary licenses and physician's licenses were issued, 2 vols. (Springfield, Virginia : Genealogical Books in Print, c1987) [FHL Book 975.5 R4sn].



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 16 July 2014, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 32,547 times.