Kentucky DirectoriesEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful records for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households and employed household members, their occupations, and their addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
Directories are particularly helpful for research in large cities, where a high percentage of the people were renters, new arrivals, or temporary residents. In fact, a directory may be the only source to list an ancestor if he or she was not registered to vote and did not own property. Most households were included because the directories were created for salesmen, merchants, and others interested in contacting residents of an area.
Directories have other clues that may require careful study to discover. For example, people in similar or related occupations were often relatives, in-laws, or friends. A year-by-year study of directories may reveal the movements of ancestors and relatives within the city and sometimes to or from other cities.
The Family History Library has directories from throughout the state of Kentucky. Many were published as county directories listing inhabitants of major towns in the county. Rural directories collected information on farmers, dairymen, and other rural residents.
- Annual report of the quarter-master general to the governor of the state of Kentucky for the year 1865-6 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
Louisville City Directories 1861, 1864-1923 –Fold3.com ($) available online.
Kentucky Schools, Directories and Church Histories Ancestry.com ($). Scroll through the list of available cities.
- Governors of Kentucky, 1792-1942 at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
- Polk's Lexington (Kentucky) city directory, 1927 : embracing a complete alphabetical list of business firms and private citize at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
The following are representative of the city directories in the FamilySearch Catalog:
- Louisville (Kentucky) City Directories. Woodridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1980–1984. FHL film 1376990 (first of 57 films) This directory includes the years 1861 and 1864 to 1935.
- Lexington (Kentucky) City Directories. Woodridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1980–1984. FHL fiche 6044043–6; film 1759869 (first of 8 films) This directory includes the years 1806 to 1935, but many of the directories for the earlier years are missing or were never published.
City directories also exist for Covington and Newport from the mid-1800s to the 1930s. Some of them are published with Cincinnati directories. During these years Covington was more populous than Lexington.
Directories pertaining to the state of Kentucky include:
- Kentucky (State) Directories. Woodridge, Connecticut: Research Publications, 1980–1984. FHL fiche 6044020 The directory includes the years 1859 to 1860 and is arranged alphabetically by city.
- Kentucky : a guide to the Bluegrass State at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
- Reprints of Littell's Political transactions in and concerning Kentucky : and letter of George Nicholas to his friend in Virgi at Ancestry.com (Free/$)
For a directory to Kentucky businesses, see Kentucky Places and People: R.L. Polk and Co.’s Kentucky State Gazetteer and Business Directory for 1895–96, mentioned in Kentucky Gazetteers FHL book 976.9 E4k .
Multiple-city directories exist for some Kentucky cities and their neighboring cities in adjacent states, such as:
- Gardner and Gaines. Business Directory: Of Bowling Green, Hopkinsville, Russelville, Clarksville, Woodburn, Franklin, Gallatin & Glasgow for 1876–77. 1876. Reprint, (Franklin, KY: Simpson County Archives, 199–). FHL fiche 6111317; book 976.9 E4g This directory is arranged by town and then by occupation and alphabetically by name.
The Family History Library, Kentucky Historical Society, Filson Club, Kentucky Room at the Lexington Central Public Library, University of Kentucky, and other Kentucky repositories have collections of city and county directories.
Many groups have created directories of their organizational structure and members or personnel. Companies may create directories of their subscribers. The directories that were published for public distribution are the ones most likely to find their way into libraries and archives. Typical examples of directories that may be found in an archive are city directories, telephone directories, church directories, occupational directories, farmers directories, or rosters of society members. These directories may range in scope from local to international. Often the most recent edition of a directory is the only one an archive will have available.
Current telephone directories can also be found on the Internet and may help you find living relatives. The FamilySearch Catalog has compact discs that incorporate telephone directories for most of the United States. See United States Directories for more detailed information on these directories.
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- KENTUCKY- DIRECTORIES
- KENTUCKY, [COUNTY]- DIRECTORIES
- KENTUCKY, [COUNTY], [TOWN]- DIRECTORIES
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.
<ref>tags exist, but no
<references/>tag was found
- This page was last modified on 30 January 2015, at 05:12.
- This page has been accessed 4,397 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More