Kentucky Search StrategiesEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Search Strategies

This set of Wiki pages describes major sources of information about families from Kentucky. As you read the Kentucky Wiki pages, also study the United States Wiki pages, which will help you understand terminology and the contents and uses of genealogical records. Also see the Virginia Wiki pages for additional information about Kentucky before 1776.
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

Contents

Strategy for Using These Wiki Pages

Before using these Kentucky Wiki pages, you need to decide what you would like to learn about one of your ancestors, such as a birth date or a maiden name.

After you have decided what information you want to find, look at the Record Selection Table. Column 1 lists the kinds of information you may need and columns 2 and 3 suggest the best types of records for finding that information.

There is a separate Kentucky Wiki page for each type of record. These pages give more information about the records and how to find them. These pages are also listed in alphabetical order in the Kentucky Topics area of the main page for Kentucky.

Records Available from the Family History Library

The Family History Library has many of the records listed in these Kentucky Wiki pages. The major holdings include census, court, land, probate, taxation, and vital records. The library has county records from most Kentucky counties.

References to Using the FamilySearch Catalog

The FamilySearch Catalog, or FamilySearch Catalog, is a listing of all the records available at the Family History Library. The catalog is available on the Internet, and at the Family History Library, and at each Family History Center. Staff there can help you learn to use the catalog.

This set of Wiki pages gives instructions for finding information in the catalog. For example, on the page called “ Kentucky Census,” you may find the following statement:

For more information about census records, look in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:

KENTUCKY - CENSUS
KENTUCKY, [COUNTY]- CENSUS
KENTUCKY, [COUNTY], [TOWN] - CENSUS

This statement tells you to look in the catalog under:

  • Kentucky, and then the subject CENSUS.
  • A county in Kentucky, and then the subject CENSUS.
  • A town in a county in Kentucky, and then the subject CENSUS.

For additional information on using the catalog, see Introduction to the FamilySearch Catalog.

FHL Call Numbers

Some of the sources described in the Kentucky Wiki pages list the Family History Library’s book, microfilm, microfiche, and compact disc numbers in parenthesis. These are preceded by FHL, the abbreviation for Family History Library. These numbers may be used to locate materials in the Family History Library, and to order microfilm and microfiche at Family History Centers. FHL books do not circulate to Family History Centers.

Book Copies at Other Repositories

The WorldCat, or WorldCatalog, is a listing of all the records available at thousands of repositories primarily in the United States and Canada. By clicking a WorldCat link you will open the Internet to the WorldCat description of that particular book. Part of the WorldCat book description includes a list of libraries nearest your home zip code with a copy of that book in their collection.

The WorldCat catalog network was formerly known as OCLC. The Family History Library is not  part of the WorldCat network.

References to Other Wiki Pages or Internet Sites

This set of Kentucky Wiki pages refers to many other pages or sites that may help you in your research. Their titles are in blue or purple.

Use Large Databases Early in Your Research

An important starting strategy is to search large Internet databases for information about a selected ancestor. For example, search databases listed in Major Databases for Beginning United States Research.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 July 2014, at 22:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,447 times.