Kewaunee County, WisconsinEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Kewaunee County Wisconsin genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States Gotoarrow.png Wisconsin Gotoarrow.png Kewaunee County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Wisconsin
Online Records


County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded April 16, 1852
County Seat Kewaunee
Courthouse
Address
Kewaunee County Courthouse
613 Dodge Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216
Phone: 920.388.7133

WI Kewaunee.png

Contents

County Courthouse


Kewaunee County Courthouse
613 Dodge Street
Kewaunee, WI 54216
Phone: 920.388.7133

Register of Deeds has birth and land records from 1873,
marriage and death records from 1874; Register in Probate
has probate records from 1867 [1]


Historical Facts

Parent County

1852--Kewaunee County was created 16 April 1852 fromDoor County.  County seat: Kewaunee [1]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Wisconsin Counties see: Wisconsin Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Census

State Census

Church History and Records

Court Records 

Records 1858-1950 are housed at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center


Name Searchable Index Available online at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/
Circuit Court Record Request form located on our website at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property 

Tax Rolls, 1852-1985 are housed at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin land ownership map, 1895

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Naturalization and Citizenship 

Records 1850-1950 are housed at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center


Name Searchable Index Available online at:  http://webapps.uwgb.edu/collections/
Citizenship Record Request form located on our website at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

Kewaunee County, Wisconsin, naturalization records, 1850-1948 Viewable

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums 

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center

County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Societies

Taxation

Vital Records

Pre-1907 Birth, Death, and Marriage registrations available at:

Archives & Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: (920) 465-2539
E-mail: archives@uwgb.edu
Website: www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/
Facebook: University of Wisconsin-Green Bay Archives & Area Research Center
Birth, Death, and Marriage Request Forms available at:  http://www.uwgb.edu/library/spc/requests/

=====

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 757 Kewaunee County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:53.
  • This page has been accessed 3,142 times.