Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Keymer is a small village and civil parish in the Mid Sussex district of West Sussex Keymer Wikipedia

Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Keymer West Sussex has entries in its database.

Keymer St Cosmos and Damian is an Ancient Parish Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) has registers from 1601 and International Genealogical Index batches prior to the 1864-1866 rebuilding of the church.

The Roman Catholic church of St Edward the Confessor is also found in Keymer Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Keymer St Cosmos and Damian

The Parish Church has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Keymer St Cosmos and St Damian Wikipedia and list of places to worship in Mid Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Keymer St Cosmos and Damian, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1601-1886
1601-1872

IGI 1601-1677 1601-1678
PRTS 1601-1901
1601-1643, 1661-1888
1601-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Keymer/

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 653 times.