Keynsham, SomersetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Somerset Gotoarrow.png Somerset Parishes

Guide to Keynsham, Somerset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Keynsham, Somerset
St John the Baptist Keynsham Somerset.jpg
St John the Baptist Keynsham Somerset
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Keynsham
County Somerset
Poor Law Union Keynsham PLU
Registration District Keynsham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bath
Diocese Bath and Wells
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Bath and Wells (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Somerset Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KEYNSHAM (St. John the Baptist), a parish, the head of a union, and formerly a market-town, in the hundred of Keynsham, E. division of Somerset, 7¼ miles (W. N. W.) from Bath, containing the tything of Chewton-Keynsham. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. The poor-law union of Keynsham comprises 19 parishes or places, of which 14 are in the county of Somerset, and 5 in that of Gloucester.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Keynsham, Somerset parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
SOPC = Somerset Online Parish Clerks - free[4]
KEYNSHAM PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1594-1624, 1628-1885
1593-1624, 1629-1698, 1703-1901
1594-1624, 1628-1684, 1697-1858
NBI

1807-1833
SOPC 1594-1885
1593-1901
1594-1861


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474599.

Poor Law Unions

Keynsham Poor Law Union, Somerset

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Somerset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SOM/Keynsham/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 22 September 2013.
  2. 'Somerset Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 February 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 17 October 2013.
  4. Somerset Online Parish Clerks Genealogy, accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:35.
  • This page has been accessed 1,534 times.