Keyworth, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Keyworth, Nottinghamshire
Keyworth St Mary Magdalene Nottinghamshire.jpg
Keyworth St Mary Magdalene Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Rushcliffe
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1601
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

KEYWORTH (St. Mary Magdalene), a parish, in the union of Bingham, N. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 7 miles (S. S. E.) from Nottingham. There are places of worship for Independents.[1]

Additional information:

Keyworth St Mary Magdalene is an Ancient Parish about 6 miles south east of Nottingham.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project history of the church Keyworth

The parish church of St Mary Magdalene has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Keyworth Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Keyworth St Mary Magdalene parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
KEYWORTH PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1657-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1653-1957 Marriages 1654-1960 Burials 1654-1900 Bishop’s Transcripts 1601-1847
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Keyworth

Keyworth - Independent Burial Ground.  A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions, giving surname, given names, date of death, and age, starting in 1837.  The orginal is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/17.  The transcription is in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 64 page 14, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Emigration

Bailey, Bryan.  Letter Regarding Assisted Emigration from Keyworth to the Cape.  A letter regarding William Pike and his family wanting assistance to emigrate from Keyworth to the Cape dated November 1819.  His wife's name is not listed - children are Thomas, Sarah, William Elijah, and Rose. Article available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref C/QA/CP 5/1/6/29, and also in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine vol.107, page 56, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 August 2014, at 16:39.
  • This page has been accessed 765 times.