Kidbrooke, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Kidbrooke, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kidbrooke, Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Blackheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Lewisham PLU
Registration District Lewisham
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: 1867-68
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIDBROOKE, a liberty, and anciently a parish, in the union of Lewisham, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W. division of Kent, 2 miles (S. S. W.) from Woolwich. [1]


Kidbrooke is a district in the London Borough of Greenwich Kidbrooke Wikipedia

The ecclesiastical parish history of Kidbrooke is fragmented over centuries . A manuscript of the 12th century, Textus Roffensis, which relates to the Diocese of Rochester the 'Chapel of Chitebroc' is mentioned in connection with the 'Church of Cerlentune'. Apparently it was then a Chapel-of-Ease to Charlton Parish Church. From a Charter dated 1206 it appears that Kidbrooke became an independent parish in the latter half of the century. The right of appointing the priest at that time belonged to Cecilia Countess of Hereford, but was later given to the prior and convent of Saint Mary Overie, Southwark. Early in the fifteenth century the Prior and Convent appropriated the income of the Rectory for the private use of the Monastery. Consequently no regular officiating priest was afterwards appointed to the Parish of Kidbrooke until 1876. This ancient church was dedicated to St Nicholas

Kidbrooke was therefore an extra parochial place for a large part of the 19th century. Two churches were then built:

St James was built originally in 1866-1867 By Newman and Billing as a 1.000 seat Gothic style church. Shortly after the church was completed in 1881 serious subsidence occurred in the chancel and the east wall and parts of the north and south walls had to be demolished and rebuilt. Further and more serious damage occurred in the second world war when first a land mine and later a V2 rocket destroyed the octagonal stone spire, the nave roof, windows and much of the interior. The church was rebuilt and refurbished in 1951.

Kidbrooke St James Kent.jpg

The church of St James has been designated as a grade listed building British listed building

St Nicholas Built in 1953 and consecrated on the feast of St Nicholas 6 December 1953. This became an independent parish in 2003

See Kidbrooke North West Kent Family History Society and Kidbrooke St James For details of the parishes in the Charlton and Kidbrooke area refer to Charlton North West Kent Family History Society which includes other places of worship in the area.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kidbrooke, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[2]
Kidbrooke, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1867-1868 1867-1868 1867-1868

Family History Library film numbers
Kidbrooke

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Census records

Census returns for Kidbrooke 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Lewisham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 667-672. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:22.
  • This page has been accessed 1,877 times.