Kilchrenan and Dalawich, Argyll, ScotlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Scotland Gotoarrow.png Argyllshire Gotoarrow.png Kilchrenan & Dalawich

Parish #517

This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Kilchrenan and Dalawich. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.

 

Contents

History

KILCHRENAN and DALAVICH, a parish, in the district of Lorn, county of Argyll, 11 miles (W. by S.) from Dalmally. The names of these places, which are of Gaelic origin, signify respectively, "the church or burial-place of Chrenan," the tutelary saint of this locality, and "the field of Avich," a term descriptive of a level tract situated near the river Avich. There are two churches, more than nine miles distant from each other: that of Kilchrenan was built in 1770, and is in good repair; the church of Dalavich was erected a year later; the one containing 280, and the other 242 sittings. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship.[1]

    This parish is entirely inland, not touching at any point upon the sea.  The major land owners were: Marquis of Breadalan; Neil Malcolm Esq. of Poltalloch;   Robert Campbell Esq. of Sonachan; and Alexander Campbell, Esq. of Monzie.The population in 1801 was 1052.  The population in 1841 was 894.  Registers were kept from 1707-1731, and from 1755-1843.  The whole population belongs to the established Church except for one family.

This account was written in 1843.

source: New Statistical Account of Scotland (FHL book 941 B4sa, series 2 vol. 7) 

 

The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at http://edina.ac.uk/stat-acc-scot/.  Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for Kilchrenan and Dalawich. Also available at the Family History Library.

Census Records

A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.

Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Kilchrenan and Dalawich as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:

 

Years FHL Film Number Surname Index                 
1841 1042717 941.38 X22s 1841 v. 1-5
1851 1042350 941.39 X2a
1861 103796
1871 103953
1881 203557 6086508 (set of 4 Fiche)
1891 220167



The 1901 and 1911 census of Scotland is indexed on www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1911, are indexed on this website. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access indexes through the library.

 

Church Records 

The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.

Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish.

 

Established Church—Old Parochial Registers

Years Covered FHL Film Number
Births: 1751-1854 1041068 items 1-2
Marriages: 1755-1854 1041068 items 1-2
Deaths: No entries

Condition of Original Records—

Index: For an index to these records, see the Scottish Church Records Index on computer at the Family History Library and family history centers.  Some records may be indexed in the International Genealogical Index.  
Births: Only three entries appear prior to February 1755. The order of the record 1769–1783 is somewhat irregular. The session clerk subscribed several pages of birth records. A separate register of births was kept for Dalavich, 1823–1854.
Marriages: The record was regularly kept. The session clerk subscribed several pages of marriage records. A separate register of marriages was kept for Dalavich, 1824–1854.
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British book 941 K23b.
Note: In the Statistical Account of Scotland, for Kilchrenan, for 1843, the minister wrote that there was a register of births for 1710–1723 and a register of marriages for 1707–1723, but their whereabouts today is unknown.


Established Church—Kirk Session Records

The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.

Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:

Minutes and Accounts 1755–1811
Minutes 1811–1966
In the Statistical Account of Scotland, for Kilchrenan, for 1843, the minister wrote that there were in addition, minute books for 1707–1731, a poor roll book for 1803–1843, and a cash book from 1788–1843, but their whereabouts today is unknown.
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1401.



Nonconformist Church Records

A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.

 


Kilchrennan Free Church

History—
The minister of Kilchrennan with many of his people left the Established Church at the Disruption, and a new church was erected. When the minister was transferred to Kilbrandon in 1852, the district was put under charge of the minister of Muckairn. In 1898, Kilchrennan and Port Sonachan were united and a missionary was appointed.
Membership: 1900, 30.
Source: Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843–1900, ed. Rev. William Ewing, D.D., 2 vols. pub. 1914. Film #918572. More details may be given in the source including ministers.

Records—
Extent of pre-1855 records is unknown.

Civil Registration Records

Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.

See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.

Probate Records


Kilchrenan and Dalawich was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Argyll until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Dunoon.  Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at www.scotlandspeople.gov.uk.  You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Argyll and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Argyll.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Argyll.  Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Argyll and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 May 2014.

Return to the Argyllshire Parish List


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 August 2014, at 17:39.
  • This page has been accessed 575 times.