Kilndown, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Kilndown, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kilndown, Kent
Kindown Christ Church Kent.jpg
Kindown Christ Church Kent
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Marden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Cranbrook PLU
Registration District Cranbrook
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

GOUDHURST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union, and partly in the hundred, of Cranbrooke, but chiefly in the hundred of Marden, Lower division of the lathe of Scray, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (E. N. E.) from Lamberhurst. Christchurch, on Kilndown, now a district church, was erected in 1839. There are two places of worship for Wesleyans.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was part of the Cranbrook registration district.

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kilndown, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[4]
Kilndown, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1843-1911

FS BTs 1893-1903 1893-1903 1893-1903
MIDK 1754-1911

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. 

Family History Library film numbers
Kilndown

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306868.




Poor Law Unions

Cranbrook Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 319-322. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:23.
  • This page has been accessed 1,321 times.