KilnwickEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

 England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kilnwick on the Wolds

Guide to Kilnwick on the Wolds, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kilnwick
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Harthill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Beverly PLU
Registration District Beverley; Driffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KILNWICK (All Saints), and also known as Kilnwick on the Wolds, was created a parish, in the union of Beverley, Bainton-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, E. riding of York. It comprises the townships of Beswick, Bracken, Kilnwick, Wilfholme, and part of Lockington. The parish is situated at the foot of the Wolds.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records
IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
KILNWICK ON THE WOLDS PARISH (1558) Online Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1572-1852 1558-1640, 1655-1836 None
JOIN None 1558-1836 None
FMP (£) 1601-1811 1601-1811 1601-1811


BESWICK CHAPELRY (1732) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1732-1869

1740-1837

None

JOIN None

None

None

FMP (£) None

None

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1575.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464219.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 672-674. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 October 2014, at 23:05.
  • This page has been accessed 1,602 times.