Kilverstone, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes K-Z

Guide to Kilverstone, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kilverstone, Norfolk
Kilverstone St Andrew.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Shropham
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rockland
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KILVERSTONE, a parish, in the union of Thetford, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 1¾ mile (E. N. E.) from Thetford. [1]


Kilverstone St Andrew is an ancient parish and the church has a round tower. A Norman church heavily restored in the 1850's.

Resources

Church Records

Kilverstone, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Kilverstone, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1812
1725-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1811 1725-1811 1725-1811
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Contents Film
Baptisms 1732-1810 Marriages 1732-1808 Burials 1727-1809 FHL BRITISH Film
1526818 Item 8

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865.

Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Registration Districts

  • Thetford 1837-1938
  • Wayland 1939-1974

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Maps

England Jurisdictions 1851

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 672-674. Date accessed: 15 April 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:25.
  • This page has been accessed 1,022 times.