Kimpton, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Kimpton, Hertfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hitchin and Pirton
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hitchin PLU
Registration District Hitchin
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Welwyn
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kimpton, is a village and a Ancient parish, parish in Hitchin district, county of Hertfordshire. The village is 2 1/4 miles E of the boundary with Bedfordshire, 3 miles N of Wheathampstead railway station, and 7½ (S by W) of Hitchin. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]

Additional information:

The name is derived from an Old English personal name, "Cȳma" and means a farmstead associated with a man called Cȳma. It appears in the Domesday Book (1086) as "Kamintone". There is a place in Hampshire with the same name.[2]

"The parish church, dedicated to St. Peter and St. Paul, situated on rising ground to the north of the village, is of early foundation; it has a square embattled tower at its western end, and its interior is embellished with a fine screen of oak: the benefice is a vicarage, in the presentation of Lord Dacre."[3]

Places

The civil parish of Kimpton contains the villages of Kimpton, Blackmore End and Peters Green.

Neighbouring Parishes are:

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Certificates may be ordered from the Hertfordshire County Office.

Church records

Parish Registers

Parish registers for Kimpton begin from 1559.

Kimpton, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[5]
HERTS = Hertfordshire Names Online - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Kimpton, Hertfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1880-1890
1837-1895

FMP 1559-1890 1559-1890 1568-1908 1568-1908 1564-1899 1564-1899
HERTS To 1837
IGI 1559-1890 1559-1837
JOIN
1568-1837

NBI

1800-1851

The registers for 1559 - 2005 are lodged with Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies, Hertfordshire County Council catalogued at CDP61.

The registers to 1930 have been filmed and are available from Family History Centres.

Bishop's Transcripts

Bishop's transcripts for Kimpton begin from 1604.

Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies, Hertfordshire County Council hold the relevant transcripts..

The Bishop's transcripts for Kimpton, 1604-1869 have been filmed and are available from Family History Centres.

findmypast Hertfordshire Record Collection

The subscription or pay-per-view commercial online publisher, findmypast.co.uk have digistised most parish records held by Hertfordshire County Council. Details at their website.

Nonconformist Records

Wesleyan Methodists have been meeting in Kimpton since 1841. A small chapel was opened in 1845 which was completely rebuilt in 1870. Some records of the Kimpton Wesleyan Methodist Chapel are held by the Hertfordshire Archives and Local Studies, Hertfordshire County Council. Their nonconformist registers and transcripts1/hals/famhist/nonconformist/ holdings are listed in a downloadable PDF file.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288832.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites


References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 January 2014.
  2. "Kimpton" in A. D. Mills, A Dictionary of British Place Names (1st rev ed., Oxford University Press, 2011) eISBN: 9780191739446 accessed 31 May 2013.
  3. "Welwyn, Codicote, Kimpton" in Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the Counties of Essex, Herts, Middlesex (Pigot and Co., London, September 1839), p 221.
  4. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 13 December 2013.
  5. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 4 March 2014.
  6. 'Marriages and Marriage Licences (1538-1922),' Hertfordshire County Council, accessed 6 March 2014.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hertford, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 11 December 2013.
  8. Hertfordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 12 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 1,431 times.