King’s Lynn St John, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes K-Z

Guide to King's Lynn St John, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

King’s Lynn St John, Norfolk
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred King's Lynn Borough
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union King's Lynn PLU
Registration District Kings Lynn
Records begin
Parish registers: 1846
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lynn
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norwich
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kings Lynn St John the Evangelist was created in 1846 from King's Lynn St Margaret Ancient parish.

Kings Lynn, Lynn Regis, or Lynn, parl. and mun. bor., seaport, and market town, Norfolk, on river Ouse, near the confluence of the river Nare, 2 miles from the Wash, 48½ miles NW. of Norwich, and 99 miles from London, 3321 ac., pop. 18,539; 3 Banks, 7 news-papers. Market-days, Tuesday and Saturday. Kings Lynn was a port even before the Norman invasion. In early times it belonged to the Church, and was known as Bishops Lynn, or Lynn Episcopi, until the property passed to the Crown in the reign of Henry VIII. [1]

Church Records

There are no images of the church records available on Record Search at present. The deposited records are held at Norfolk Record office reference PD613. This parish does not appear on Record Search as no microfilm for the parish is held and no agreement to publish has been reached.

Census

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438868.

Registration Districts

  • King's Lynn

Probate Jurisdictions

Norfolk Probate Jurisdictions Parishes I through N

Poor Law Unions

References

England Jurisdictions 1851

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:34.
  • This page has been accessed 858 times.