King's Cross, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Middlesex go to Middlesex Parishes London

Guide to King's Cross, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

King's Cross, Middlesex
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ossulstone (Holborn Division)
County Middlesex
Poor Law Union St Pancras PLU
Registration District Pancras
Records begin
Parish registers: 1843
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not created until 1858
Diocese London
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's Cathedral
Location of Archive
Middlesex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGS-CROSS, a quondam hamlet and a chapelry in St. Pancras parish, Middlesex. The quondam hamlet is now part of the metropolis; lies between Pentonville and Somers-Town, 1¾ mile NW of St. Paul's;  The chapelry was constituted in 1849.[1]

All Saints King's Cross, Islington was created as a chapel of ease in the year 1838. It stood within the civil parish boundaries of St Mary Islington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438780.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 13 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:19.
  • This page has been accessed 876 times.