King's Marsh, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Gotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Kingsmarsh

Guide to Kingsmarsh, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

King's Marsh, Cheshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Stockport Borough
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Stockport PLU
Registration District Stockport
Records begin
Parish registers: 1847
Bishop's Transcripts: 1851
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Macclesfield
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

KINGSMARSH, is an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Great Boughton, the higher division of the hundred of Broxton, S. division of the county of Chester, it is 5½ miles (N. W.) from Malpas. The Dee river lies on the west.[1]

King's Marsh is  an extra parochial place in Cheshire with few human inhabitants.

It has been a civil parish in West Cheshire since 1858 and is the Broxbourne hundred.

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241232.

Church records

King's Marsh extra-parochial no records.

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
King's Marsh Extra-Parochial No Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
FS BT'S    NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE
   NONE
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches

None

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Great Boughton (1837-69)
  • Chester (1870-1937)
  • West Cheshire (1937-74)
  • Chester & Ellesmere Port (1974-98)
  • Cheshire West (1998-2007)

Poor Law Unions

  • Great Boughton (1837-71)
  • Chester (1871-1930)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Date Accessed: 22 March 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 2 October 2014, at 23:20.
  • This page has been accessed 1,300 times.