King County, WashingtonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Washington
King County
Guide to King County Washington genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| King County, Washington | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Washington | |
![]() Location of Washington in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 22, 1852 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Seattle |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | King County Courthouse 516 3rd Avenue Seattle, WA 98104 Phone: 206.296.1020 King County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 22 December 1852 from Thurston
- County Seat: Seattle [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Chelan | Kitsap | Kittitas | Pierce | Snohomish | Yakima
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Cemeteries
- Kolb, Alexis Ann Alexander, Black Diamond Cemetery, Black Diamond, Washington, (Auburn, Washington: A.A.A. Kolb, 1980). Book online at FHL book 979.777/B3 V3k Includes map of cemetery plots.
- Fort Lawn Cemetery -- Burial Index
- Lake View Cemetery main site
- Lake View Cemetery Burial Search
BillionGraves:
- Carnation Cemetery, Carnation
- Forest Lawn Cemetery, Seattle
- Grand Army of the Republic Cemetery, Seattle
- Greenwood Cemetery, Renton
- Hills of Eternity Cemetery, Seattle
- Holy Cross Cemetery, Enunclaw
- Mount Olivet Cemetery, Renton
- Mount Pleasant Cemetery, Seattle
- Suise Creek Cemetery, Kent
- Tahoma National Cemetery, Kent
- White Lake Cemetery, Auburn
Find A Grave: search and contribute to 168 King County cemeteries
Census
Federal
- 1860
- 1870
- 1880
- 1890
- 1890 Veterans
- 1900
- 1910
- 1920
- 1930
State
- 1889
- 1907
Church Records
LDS Ward and Branch Records
- Queen Anne (Seattle)
- Renton
- Seattle S.
- Seattle W.
- University (Seattle)
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
- History and Progress of King County, Washington... 1916, by Henry C. Pigott. Digitalized book online from archive.org.
Oral History
- Olson, Diane and Cory, comp. and ed., Black Diamond: Mining the Memories, An oral history of life in a company town, (Seaside, Oregon: Frontier Publishing, 1988). FHL Book 979.777/B1 H2o The 1989 Washington Centennial project of the Black Diamond Historical Society, this book is a compilation of historical photographs and selections from the transcripts of over fifty oral history interviews.
- University of Washington, Urban Design and Planning, Mining the Memories II, Black Diamond Oral History Project, (University of Washington: 2011). Summary of 2010 oral history project pdf for the Black Diamond Historical Society. A follow-up to the 1988 centennial project, students interviewed another twenty-two residents capturing the history of Black Diamond as the area transitioned from a coal mining company town, 1950s to present.
Land and Property
Maps
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Washington State Digital Archives has digitized various types of naturalization-related records, including declarations of intentions, delayed birth files, naturalization affidavits, notifications of application for admission to US citizenship, orders fixing naturalization terms, petitions and records, petitions, receipts for certificates of citizenship, record of final decrees of citizenship and record of petitions dockets. Depending on the county, records range from 1854-1988.
Newspapers
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Washington, King County Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
King County Courthouse
516 3rd Avenue
Seattle, WA 98104
Phone: 206.296.1020
Records and Elections Division, Records Section has birth, marriage, death and land records from 1853. Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce, probate and county records. [2]
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Auburn Washington Family History Center
- Bellevue Washington Family History Center
- Bellevue Washington South Family History Center
- Federal Way Washington Family History Center
- Kirkland Washington Family History Center
- Maple Valley Washington Family History Center
- North Bend Washington Family History Center
- Redmond Washington Family History Center
Libraries
- Fiske Genealogical Foundation and Library - Located at 1644 43rd Ave. E., Seattle, WA 98112. Hours: Monday & Saturday 10:00 a.m. - 3 p.m.; Wednesday 12:00 - 8:00 p.m.; Thursday 3:00 - 8:00 p.m.; Friday by appt; 2nd Sunday from 1:00 - 4:00 p.m. Phone: 206-328-2716.
Museums
- Black Diamond Historical Depot Museum
32627 Railroad Ave
Black Diamond WA 98010
360–886–2142
Franklin Tours: 253–852–6763
Transit: Baker St and 3rd Ave
Send e-mail to: museum@blackdiamondmuseum.org
Hours:
Thursday 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday (Summer) 12 to 4 p.m.
Saturday and Sunday (Winter) 12 to 3 p.m.
Societies
- Black Diamond Historical Society – The mission of the Black Diamond Historical Society shall be the discovery, preservation, and dissemination of the history of Black Diamond and environs, as it relates to King County and the State of Washington. Like us on facebook Black Diamond History
- Eastside Genealogical Society – Library holdings are located at the Bellevue Regional Library, a part of the King County Library System. Meetings are held at 7:00 p.m. on the 2nd Thursday of the month at the Bellevue Regional Library at 1111 110th Ave. N.E., Bellevue, WA 98004. Check the website for more information on the various interest groups that meet as a part of EGS.
- South King County Genealogical Society – Library holdings are located at the Auburn branch of the King County Library System. Meetings are held from 9:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. on the 3rd Saturday of the month at the First Baptist Church of Kent, 11420 S.E. 248th St., Kent, WA 98030.
- Seattle Genealogical Society – Library located at 6200 Sand Point Way N.E., #101, Seattle, WA 98115. Hours: Tuesday - Saturday 10:00a.m. - 3:00 p.m. and Wednesday until 8:00 p.m. Check the website for the society meeting schedule and a listing of the various interest groups that meet as a part of SGS.
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Washington State Digital Archives has a database of King County Birth Records. This database contains the names of people who were born in King County from 1891-1907.
Marriage
To obtain copies of marriage records from King County, go to the following website: www.kingcounty.gov/courts/marriage/Licensecopies.aspx. The website offers a link to an online search for marriage records 1855-1989, which includes images.
Death
Websites
Places
Incorporated Cities
Algona - 2,775
Auburn - 68,270 (Orig. Slaughter)
Beaux Arts Village - 320
Bellevue - 122,900
Black Diamond - 4,190
Bothell - 33,430
Burien - 31,730
Carnation - 1,915
Clyde Hill - 2,845
Covington - 17,640
Des Moines - 29,290
Duvall - 5,990
Enumclaw - 11,490
Federal Way - 88,760
Hunts Point - 470
Issaquah - 27,160 (Orig. Gilman)
Kenmore - 20,650
Kent - 88,760
Kirkland - 84,830
Lake Forest Park - 12,840
Maple Valley - 21,130
Medina 2,980
Mercer Island - 22,280
New Castle - 9,955
Normandy Park - 6,540
North Bend - 5,665
Pacific - 6,305
Redmond - 53,680
Renton - 86,230
Sammamish - 41,070
SeaTac - 25,890
Seattle - 612,000 (Largest City and County Seat)
Shoreline - 54,580
Skykomish - 225
Snoqualmie 9,850
Tukwila - 18,190 (Orig. Foster)
Woodinville - 11,350
Yarrow Point - 995
King County Washington Genealogy References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ferry County, Washington page 732, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
| ||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 21:14.
- This page has been accessed 2,639 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

