Kingsdown, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent England Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Kingsdown, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingsdown, Kent
Kingsdown St Catherine Kent.jpg
Kingsdown St Catherine Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton PLU
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kingsdown is a small hamlet surrounded by the villages of Frinsted, Milstead, Doddington and Lynsted in Kent, see Kingsdown Wikipedia.

The hamlet is within the civil parish of Milstead and Kingsdown which spans the boundaries of the boroughs of Maidstone and Swale. The area around the hamlet includes the Torry Hill estate and forms part of the Barony of Kingsdown.

The Parish of Kingsdown was within the Diocese of Canterbury. The redundant church of St Catherine is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. It was designed by Edward Welby Pugin to replace a mediaeval church on the site and was built 1866-1877 for the first Lord Kingsdown, Thomas Pemberton Leigh.It is the only Anglican church work undertaken by Edward Welby Pugin. The church is now accessible only by a footbridge above the M2 motorway and is locked with a access by prior arrangement only. The church is designated a grade II listed building by English Heritage. The Church of St Catherine, Downcourt Road, Milstead and Kinsdown British listed building Churches Conservation Trust

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 112-116 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

This parish should not be confused with Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent or Kingsdown St John, Kent

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingsdown, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3][4]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
KINGSDOWN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1560-1909 1560-1909 1560-1920; 1754-1859 (Banns) 1560-1920; 1754-1859 (Banns) 1580-1977 1580-1977
FS BTs 1719-1851 1719-1851 1719-1851
PRTS
1725-1812

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Kingsdown available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306875.



Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  5. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013. Ambiguously described as 'Kingsdown' with no saint's dedication. This set of records may actually pertain to one of the other Kingsdowns in Kent.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 1,241 times.