Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent
West Kingsdown St Edmund King and Martyr Kent.jpg
West Kingsdown St Edmund King and Martyr Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Axton, Dartford and Wilmington
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dartford PLU
Registration District Dartford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1725
Bishop's Transcripts: 1719
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

West Kingsdown is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent. West Kingsdown Wikipedia

West Kingsdown St Edmund King and Martyr is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester which includes part of neighbouring Maplescombe; the parish legal name is Kingsdown and the modern parish is within the Shoreham Deanery of the dioces; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you. Part of Maplescombe is in the neighbouring parish of St Martin of Tours Eynsford, Kent

The church of St Edmund Fawkham Road West Kingsdown has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

There are four churches in the village: the parish church of St Edmund King and Martyr; a Baptist chapel; the Roman Catholic church of St Bernardette; and a Kings Church, established in 1996.

The ruins of Maplescombe Chapel have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The village and civil parish of West Kingsdown include the housing developments of Knatts Valley and East Hill.

See Kingsdown North West kent Family History Society and St Edmund the King Kingsdown

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 2 (1797), pp. 475-493 at British History Online which includes reference to Maplescombe and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

See Dartford registration District

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Kingsdown with Mappiscombe, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1719-1851
1719-1837

BOYD
1732-1775

IGI 1813-1851

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Kingsdown near Eynsford are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Census records

Census returns for Kingsdown (near Dartford), 1841-1891 are believed to refer to West Kingdown census microfilms.

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Dartford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,112 times.