Kingsey, Buckinghamshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kingsey, Buckinghamshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Buckinghamshire Parishes

Guide to Kingsey, Buckinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingsey, Buckinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ashendon; Lewknor
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Thame
Registration District Thame
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1575
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Waddesdon
Diocese Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post- 1836 - Oxford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Buckingham
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office


Parish History

Kingsey (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Thame, partly in the hundred of Lewknor, county of Kingsey, and Oxfordshire, but chiefly in that of Ashendon, county of Buckingham, 2 miles (E. by N.) from Thame.[1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingsey, Buckinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[2]
Kingsey, Buckinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
OFHS 1538-1812

Records available through the Family History Library provides some additional help for church records on their webite.

Non-Conformist Churches


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241210.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Buckinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Kingsey on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 677-680. Date accessed and adapted 18 June 2013.
  2. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.
Buckinghamshire Genealogical Society


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 11 November 2015, at 01:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,976 times.