Kingskerswell, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Kingskerswell, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingskerswell, Devon
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Haytor
County Devon
Poor Law Union Newton Abbot PLU
Registration District Newton Abbot
Records begin
Parish registers: 1752
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ipplepen
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGSKERS WELL, or KINGS-CARSWELL, a village and a parish in Newton-Abbot district, Devon. The village stands adjacent to the Torquay railway, 3 miles SSE of Newton-Abbot; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Newton-Abbot. The parish contains also the hamlets of North Whilborough and South Whilborough.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingskerswell, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FAMR = FamilyRelatives.com (£)[3]
FREG = FreeReg.org.uk
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[4]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[5]
KINGSKERSWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1752-1837

FAMR None None 1752-1837 None None None
FREG None None 1752-1837 None None None
PALL None None 1790-1837 None None None
TGEN
1752-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241314.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, [Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales published in 1870-72. Date accessed and adapted: 29 Octrober 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Devon Parish registers collection 1538 on Familyrelatives.com,' Family Relatives, accessed 12 March 2012. Taken from Phillimore Marriage Indexes.
  4. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  5. 'Parish Records,' TheGenealogist, accessed 26 April 2014.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:28.
  • This page has been accessed 737 times.