Kingston, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Kent   Gotoarrow.png  Kent Parishes

Guide to Kingston, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingston, Kent
Kingston St Giles Kent.jpg
Kingston St Giles Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kinghamford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge PLU
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGSTONE (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Kinghamford, lathe of St. Augustine, E. division of Kent, 5¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Canterbury.[1]


Kingston is a village and civil parish in the City of Canterbury district of Kent, see Kingston, Kent Wikipedia

Kingston St Giles is an Ancient Parish about 5 miles south east of the City of Canterbury in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you . The modern parish is part of the Barham Downs Group, which includes Barham, KentBishopsbourne, Kent and Womenswold, Kent.

The church is mainly 14th century with some survival from the 11th century church which was subsequently rebuilt and extended. A monument in the chancel commemorates John Netersole, d. 1546, and there are also memorials to Robert Deune, d. 1594, and John Haslyn, d. 1600.

See Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 338-349 at British History Online  and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingston, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
Kingston, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1908 1558-1908 1557-1837; 1754-1924 (Banns) 1557-1837; 1754-1924 (Banns) 1558-1812 1558-1812
FREG 1558-1812
1558-1837
1558-1812
IGI 1558-1812 1558-1837
PALL
1790-1837

Land Tax

Images for Kingston are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306862.


 

Poor Law Unions

Bridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 680-683. Date accessed: 19 August 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 June 2014, at 19:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,914 times.