Kingston by Ferring, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Kingston by Ferring , Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Kingston by Ferring, a parish. It comprises three settlements: East Kingston, West Kingston, and Kingston Gorse.[1]

This parish should not be confused with Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex West Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kingston by Ferring, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Kingston by Ferring, Sussex Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1570-1671 1571-1658
PRTS 1570-1671
1570-1672
1571-1658

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kingston near Lewes

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464161.

[1]

Poor Law Unions

Newhaven Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/KingstonbySea/

References

  1. 'Kingston by Ferring,' Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, accessed 15 December 2013.
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014. Described as 'Kingston Gorse.'
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013. Described as 'Kingston Gorse.'

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:24.
  • This page has been accessed 481 times.