Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kingston by Sea, Sussex)

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex
Kingston Buci St Julian West Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Fishergate
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1591
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lewes
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGSTON-BY-SEA, or Kingston-Bowsey, a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1½ mile (E.) from Shoreham.[1]


Kingston Buci St Julian is an Ancient Parish ( also referred to as Kingston by Sea) in the Adur district of West Sussex.

A history of the church Kingston Buci St Julian

The church of St Julian has been designated as a grade II* listed building [+ British listed building]

Kingston Buci Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also St Julians church Kingston Buci Wikipedia

This parish should not be confused with Kingston near Lewes, Sussex in the Lewes District of East Sussex

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Kingston Buci (Kingston by Sea), Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1838
1607-1868

PRTS 1592-1901
1593-1901
1592-1901

Link to the FamilySearch Cataloguw showing the film numbers in their collection Kingston by Sea

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/KingstonbySea/

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 680-683. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 September 2014, at 15:12.
  • This page has been accessed 1,068 times.