Kingston on Soar, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Kingston on Soar St+Willfrid Nottinghamshire.jpg

Contents

Parish History

KINGSTON-UPON-SOAR, a village and a parish in the district of Shardlow and county of Nottingham. The village stands on the verge of the county, near the river Soar and the Midland railway, 1 mile NNE of Kegworth r. station, and 10 SW by W of Nottingham; and has a post office, of the name of Kingston, under Derby.[1]

Additional information:

Kingston on Soar St Winifred is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Nottinghamshire, created in 1762 from chapelry in  Ratcliffe on Soar, Nottinghamshire  Ancient Parish.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the church and parish history Kingston on Soar St Winifred

The Parish church of St Winfred has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kingston on Soar Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Kingston on Soar became part of Basford registration district  on 1 January 1937

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Kingston on Soar St Winifred parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
KINGSTON ON SOAR PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1755-1811

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1688-1902 Marriages 1755-1901 Burials 1657-1804 Bishop’s Transcripts 1626-1843
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kingston on Soar

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438908.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 05:31.
  • This page has been accessed 829 times.