Hull Holy Trinity, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Hull Holy Trinity

Guide to Hull Holy Trinity, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels

Hull Holy Trinity, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston-upon-Hull
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hull Incorporation
Registration District Hull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1554; Separate registers exist for Kingston upon Hull St John the Evangelist beginning 1849 and also for Kingston upon Hull St James beginning 1831 and also for Kinston upon Hull St Stephen beginning 1845
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Kingston upon Hull St James beginning 1831
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office


Parish History

HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The Trinity House was built in 1457, and rebuilt in 1753. The Charter-house was founded in the year 1384.[1]

Holy Trinity is an ancient and spacious cruciform structure, with a lofty and very beautiful tower rising from the intersection, and supported on piers and arches of elegant proportions: the east end is in the decorated English style, and the transepts are fine specimens of the earliest period of that style; the window in the south transept is filled with tracery, and enriched with mouldings of curious character. The edifice was re-opened, after judicious restoration, in December, 1845.[2]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Hull Holy Trinity, Yorkshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = - free
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
Hull Holy Trinity, Yorkshire Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1721-1910




1820, 1829-1838

Census records

Genealogy From Periodicals

Thompson, Christopher. Jonathan Richarson: Quaker. History of the Richardsons originally of Hull. The author was given a family tree which was drawn up in 1829, and went back to the 17th Century. The article is a history of the family, who latterly went into Banking, and Mining. One of the relatives marrying a Rev. Robert George Willis, who was born in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Descendants were in Hull, Newcastle Upon Tyne and Shotley Bridge. Picture of Amelia Willis nee Richardson, and Shotley Bridge Spa. Article in the Northumberland and Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.34,no.2. page 54-56. Family History Library Reference, 942.8 B2jo v.34, no.2. (summer 2009)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Adapted. Accessed October 31, 2013.
  3. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.
  4. 'National Burial Index - Yorkshire (City and Ainsty) Coverage,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 20 October 2014.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 9 July 2015, at 11:16.
  • This page has been accessed 3,905 times.