Kingston upon Hull St MaryEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kingston upon Hull St Mary See and print out a "Complete List of Kingston-upon-Hull Parishes and Chapels".
Kingston upon Hull St Mary
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston-upon-Hull
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Hull Incorporation PLU
Registration District Hull
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564; For more records see North Ferriby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Harthill and Hull
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HULL, or Kingston-upon-Hull, a sea-port, borough, and county of itself, situated on the borders of the East riding of York, 39 miles (S. E.) from York, and 170 (N.) from London; comprising the parishes of St. Mary, the Holy Trinity, Drypool, and Sculcoates, the extra-parochial district of Garrison-Side, and part of the parish of Sutton. The ancient borough comprises the parishes of Holy Trinity and St. Mary. [1]

This chapel was originally built as a chapel of ease to North Ferribly but was created as a parish by the year 1447. Parish registers begin in 1564.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Kingston upon Hull St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
KINGSTON UPON HULL ST MARY PARISH (1564) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1716-1833

1716-1833

None

JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None

KINGSTON UPON HULL HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1554) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1721-1910

1721-1858

 
JOIN None
None

None
AC None

None

None


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464224.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 574-580. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 15:38.
  • This page has been accessed 914 times.