Kingston upon Thames, Surrey GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kingston upon Thames, Surrey)

England Gotoarrow.png Surrey Gotoarrow.pngSurrey Parishes


Kingston upon Thames, Surrey
200px
Image:Kingston Bridge
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Kingston
County Surrey
Poor Law Union Kingston PLU
Registration District Kingston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1541; Separate registers exist for Hook beginning 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1755; Separate records exist for Hook beginning 1843
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ewell
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Surrey
Location of Archive
Surrey Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGSTON-UPON-THAMES (All Saints), a parish, and the head of a union, in the First division of the hundred of Kingston, E. division of Surrey.[1]

In about 1870, John Wilson wrote:

"KINGSTON-UPON-THAMES, a town, a parish, a sub-district, a district, and a hundred, in Surrey. The town stands on the river Thames, at the terminus of a branch of the Twickenham railway, adjacent to Middlesex, opposite Bushy Park and Hampton Court, and near the Surbiton station of the Southwestern railway, 10 miles SW of Vauxhall Bridge and of Hyde Park Corner, and 12 from the London terminus of the Southwestern railway.

The town extends about a mile along the Thames; has recently undergone much improvement and extension; and may be said to include the new town of Kingstonupon-Railway, and the Middlesex suburb of Hampton Wick. The court house, at the end of the market place, is used for the Lent assizes. The house of correction has been converted into barracks for the county militia. Christ church, and the churches of Norbiton, Surbiton, Hook, Ham, and Robinhood Gate, also are associated with the town, or within the parish; and there are chapels for Independents, Baptists, Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics. A new cemetery, at Norbiton, is spacious, and has two chapels. The parish contains also the hamlets of Hook, New Malden, and Ham-with-Hatch; and it is ecclesiastically divided into seven parts. The living of 1) All Saints (the ancient parish) is a vicarage, and the livings of 2) Christchurch, 3) Norbiton-with New Malden, 4) Surbiton, 5) Hook, 6) Ham, and 7) Robinhood-Gate are p. curacies [or chapelries with parish registers of christenings and sometimes burials], in the diocese of Winchester. The district comprehends also the sub-district of Wimbledon, conterminate with Wimbledon parish; the sub-district of Esher, containing the parishes of Esher, East Moulsey, West Moulsey, Long Ditton, and Thames Ditton; and the sub-district of Hampton, containing the parishes of Hampton and Teddington, electorally in Middlesex. The places of worship, in 1851, were 18 of the Church of England, with 9, 712 sittings; 8 of Independents, with 1,174 s.; 3 of Baptists, with 394 s.; 2 of Quakers, with 482 s.; 3 of Wesleyans, with 265 s.; 1 of Bible Christians, with 34 attendants; and 1 of Roman Catholics, with 214.[2]



Additional information:

Kingston upon Thames, Surrey ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.



Church records

Online Kingston upon Thames Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1541
1543
1543
Images
1755-1812 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[3]
1813-1860 Ancestry[4] 1755-1837 Ancestry[5] 1813-1869 Ancestry[6]
Indexes 1541-1875 FamilySearch[7] 1543-1876 FamilySearch[8] 1543-1840 findmypast[9]
1605-1774 findmypast[10]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474663.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 25 February 2014.
  2. Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales(1870). Adapted. Date accessed: 20 February 2015.
  3. London, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as All Saints in Kingston upon Thames Borough. Marriages from 1754 to 1812 are not included in this database. Partially indexed.
  4. London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Kingston Upon Thames All Saints in Kingston upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  5. London, England, Marriages and Banns, 1754-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Kingston Upon Thames All Saints in Kingston upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  6. London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Described as Kingston Upon Thames All Saints in Kingston upon Thames Borough. Partially indexed.
  7. Batches C015492, C015493, P015491, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  8. Batch M015493, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  10. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net (WayBack Machine), accessed 27 March 2012.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 February 2015, at 22:32.
  • This page has been accessed 3,452 times.