Kingstone, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Kingstone, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingstone, Staffordshire
Kingstone Parish Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Uttoxeter PLU
Registration District Uttoxeter
Records begin
Parish registers: 1755
Bishop's Transcripts: 1679
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Uttoxeter
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KINGSTONE, a parish, in the union of Uttoxeter, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 3½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Uttoxeter.[1]

Kingstone St John the Baptist is an Ancient ''Parish'' in the county of Staffordshire. Other places in the parish include: Blithe Bridge.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See Staffordshire BMD

Church records

Kingston parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
KINGSTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1755-1836 1755-1836 1813-1876 1813-1876
FS 1682-1868
1679-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1561-1938 Mar 1561-1931 Bur 1561-1945

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474629.

Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Kingstone/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 680-683. Date accessed: 31 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 August 2014, at 20:43.
  • This page has been accessed 1,190 times.