Kingswinford, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Kingswinford, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingswinford, Staffordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1666
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SWINFORD, KING'S (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W. by S.) from Dudley. This parish, is situated on the roads from Dudley to Stourbridge, and from Wolverhampton to Worcester. The Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, have places of worship.[1]

Holy Trinity was built as the new Parish Church for Kingswinford in 1831 and replaced St Mary. The earlier records of St Mary were transferred to Holy Trinity. St Mary became a chapel of ease until 1846 after which it became a serparate parish.

Resources

Church Records

Kingswinford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
KINGSWINFORD HOLY TRINITY (WORDSLEY) & ST MARY (1603) PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1603-1754
1813-1836
FS 1704-1776, 1800-1831
1704-1837


Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.

Non-Conformist Churches

Shut End Primitive Methodist Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

  SHUT END PRIMITIVE METHODIST CHAPEL (1845) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1845-1887





Census Records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.

Civil Registration

Poor Law Union

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Kingswinford/index.html

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 289-292. Date accessed: 31 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 14 August 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,338 times.