Kingswinford St Mary, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kingswinford St Mary, Staffordshire
Kingswinford St Mary Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred North Seisdon
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Stourbridge PLU
Registration District Stourbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1832
Bishop's Transcripts: 1832
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Himley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

SWINFORD, KING'S (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Stourbridge, N. division of the hundred of Seisdon, S. division of the county of Stafford, 3 miles (W. by S.) from Dudley. This parish, which is situated on the roads from Dudley to Stourbridge, and from Wolverhampton to Worcester.

The church, erected in 1831, on a site at Wordsley and, by a special act of Parliament, has been made the mother church. The former parish church, dedicated to St. Mary, and now a chapel, is an ancient edifice. There are churches at BrierlyHill, Brockmoor, Pensnett, and Quarry-Bank. The Baptists, Independents, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans, have places of worship. [1].


When Wordsley Holy Trinity, Staffordshire was built and formed as a parish in 1831 St Mary became a chapel of ease within that parish and the St Mary records were transferred to Holy Trinity. Subsequently the old St Mary building was rebuilt . Other places in the parish include: Stourbridge, Wollescott, Wollescote, and Upper Swinford. After the rebuilding of the church it became, in 1846, a separate parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See West Midlands BMD and Staffordshire BMD

Church records

For earlier registers refer to Wordsley Holy Trinity, Staffordshire

Kingswinford St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
KINGSWINFORD ST MARY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1832-1862
FS 1832-1857


Dudley Archives has deposited Parish registers Bap 1832-1914 Marr 1837-1910 Bur 1832-1944

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire Freereg and can be searched for free.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474624.

Poor Law Unions

Stourbridge Poor Law Union, Worcestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Kingswinford/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 289-292. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 13 September 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:20.
  • This page has been accessed 2,354 times.