Kinoulton, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NottinghamshireGotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Contents

Parish History

Kinoulton, Nottinghamshire
Kinoulton St Luke Nottinghamshire.jpg
Kinoulton St Luke Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bingham
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Bingham PLU
Registration District Bingham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1606
Bishop's Transcripts: 1682
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bingham
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Kinoulton
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office


KINOULTON (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 9 miles (S. E.) from Nottingham. There was anciently a chapel at Newbold.[1]

Additional information:

Kinoulton St Luke is an Ancient Parish about 10 miles southeast of Nottingham.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have information about Kinoulton Old Church and Kinoulton St Luke

The parish church of St Luke dates from 1793 and replaced an earlier parish church on a different site Graveyard of St Wilfrid; it has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See also Kinoulton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Kinoulton St Luke parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
KINOULTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1654-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1606-1901 Marriages 1654-1978 Burials 1606-1994 Bishop’s Transcripts 1682-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kinoulton

Census Records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438902.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Bingham Poor Law Union, Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, [http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=51080#s6 A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:07.
  • This page has been accessed 819 times.