Kiowa County, OklahomaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png Oklahoma  Gotoarrow.png Kiowa County

Kiowa County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Oklahoma
Online Records


Coordinates: 39.99°0′N 91.19°0′W / 39.99°N 91.19°W / 39.99; -91.19

Kiowa County, Oklahoma
Map
Map of Oklahoma highlighting Kiowa County
Location in the state of Oklahoma
Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 1901
County Seat Hobart
Courthouse
Photo courtesy [[]]
Address Kiowa County Courthouse
16 S. Main Street
P.O. Box 73
Hobart, Oklahoma 73651
Phone: 580.726-5286

Contents

County Courthouse

 
Kiowa County Courthouse
316 S Main; PO Box 73
Hobart, OK 73651
Phone: 580.726-5286 

Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1905;
County Clerk has burial, land and military records from 1905[1]

History

Parent County

1901--Kiowa County was created in 1901 from Kiowa-Comanche-Apache and Caddo-Wichita lands.
County seat: Hobart [2]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Kiowa County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Oklahoma denominations, view the Oklahoma Church Records Wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Oklahoma Land and Property for additional information about early Oklahoma land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Kiowa County, Oklahoma. County and town histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Oklahoma Local Histories.

Maps

Okkiowa.jpg

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Kiowa County, Oklahoma newspapers in online catalogs like:

  • NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Lawton newspapers that may have included Kiowa County residents. This database is free at some libraries.

Probate

Probate records may be available by contacting the County Clerk's office.

Taxation

Oklahoma tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

See the article Oklahoma Vital Records for information about birth and death records.  These records are kept at the State level.

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

  • USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
  • FamilySearch Catalog

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Kiowa County, Oklahoma. Page 560 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:22.
  • This page has been accessed 4,380 times.