Kirby Bedon, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png NorfolkGotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes Gotoarrow.png Kirby Bedon

Guide to Kirby Bedon, Norfolk family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirby Bedon, Norfolk
Kirby Bedon St Andrew.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead PLU
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; Separate registers exist for Kirby Bedon St Mary beginning 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brooke
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRBY-BEDON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. E.) from Norwich; containing, with Kirby-Bedon St. Mary. [1] Kirby Bedon St Andrew is the surviving church in the Ancient parish. The ruined round tower church of Kirby Bedon St Mary fell into disuse prior to 1700.

The present church was rebuilt in 1876 and the Diocesan Architect rebuilt the tower in 1884.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registration Districts
  • Henstead

Church records

Kirby Bedon St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[6]
Kirby Bedon St Andrew Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1568-1753

FREG 1725-1880
1558-1812
1725-1812
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880

Kirby Bedon St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Kirby Bedon St Mary Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1805-1806, 1812-1845
1805-1806, 1812-1845
1805-1806, 1812-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This parish does not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held.

Norfolk Record Office reference PD 481/1-6
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue indicates that the following Archdeacon's transcripts are on film but these have not yet been converted to digital images for publication.

Other Content FHL Film
Baptisms 1725-1812. Marriages and burials 1725-1811. BRITISH 1526788 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Poor Law Unions

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 687-689. Date accessed: 16 April 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 February 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 October 2014, at 21:29.
  • This page has been accessed 1,404 times.