Kirby Knowle, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirby Knowle, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirby Knowle, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Thirsk PLU|
|Parish registers: 1642; Separate registers exist for Bagby beginning 1556|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1601; Separate records exist for Bagby beginning 1597|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Kirby Knowle St Wilfrid is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Bagby, Islebeck, Balk, and Bagby with Islebeck
KIRBY-KNOWLE, a parish, in the union of Thirsk, wapentake of Birdforth, N. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Bagby with Islebeck, and the township of Balk, 553 inhabitants, of whom 147 are in the township of Kirby-Knowle, 4¾ miles (N. E. by N.) from Thirsk. There is a chapel of ease at Bagby.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirby Knowle exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|KIRBY KNOWLE PARISH (1690) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirby Knowle to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Kirby Knowle page.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464227.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 15 October 2014, at 23:35.
- This page has been accessed 1,118 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki