Kirby Lonsdale, WestmorlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirby Lonsdale, Westmorland family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirby Lonsdale, Westmorland|
|Poor Law Union||Kendal PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538; Separate registers exist for Casterton Holy Trinity beginning 1837|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676; Separate records exist for Casterton Holy Trinity beginning 1833|
|Rural Deanery||Kirkby Lonsdale|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal|
|Location of Archive|
|Westmorland Record Office|
KIRKBY-LONSDALE (St. Mary), a market-townand parish, in the union of Kendal, Lonsdale ward,county of Westmorland; comprising the chapelries of Barbon, Casterton, Firbank, Hutton-Roof, Killington,Mansergh, and Middleton, and the townships of Kirkby-Lonsdale and Lupton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464191.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Westmorland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 14 May 2014, at 21:05.
- This page has been accessed 660 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki