Kirby Misperton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png North Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kirby Misperton

Guide to Kirby Misperton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirby Misperton, Yorkshire
Kirby Misperton St Lawrence Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Pickering-Lythe
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Pickering PLU
Registration District Malton; Pickering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1788
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Riddal
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Kirby Misperton St Lawrence is an Ancient Parish in the county of Yorkshire. Other places in the parish include: Barugh Ambo, Barughs Ambo, Barughs Ambo with Great and Little Barugh, Great and Little Barugh, Ryton, Great Habton, Little Barugh, Little Habton, and Great Barugh.
The civil parish of Kirby Misperton is within the Ryedale district of North Yorkshire

The church of St Laurence has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building See also Kirby Misperton Wikipedia

KIRKBY-MISPERTON (St. Lawrence), a parish, partly in the union of Malton, and partly in that of Pickering, lythe of Pickering, N. riding of York. There is a chapel of ease at Ryton, and at Great Habton and Barugh are places of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Records from the Ryedale registration district held at the North Yorkshire Registration Service are included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search.

Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirby Misperton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

FMP= FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
 KIRBY-MISPERTON PARISH (1721) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1780-1880 1780-1880 1789-1876 1789-1876 1788-1871 1788-1871
FS 1721-1874
1721-1876
None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464234.

Poor Law Unions

Pickering Poor Law Union, Yorkshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire Parish Records - Parish List,' findmypast, accessed 2 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 22:03.
  • This page has been accessed 1,926 times.