Kirdford, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Sussex   Gotoarrow.png  Sussex Parishes

Kirdford St John the Baptist West Sussex.jpg

Contents

Parish History

KIRDFORD (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of Petworth, hundred of Rotherbridge, rape of Arundel, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (N. E. by N.) from Petworth; containing, with the chapelry of Plaistow.[1]


Kirdford St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which included Hasfold-Shipburn, Pallingham and Plaistow and is in District of Chichester West Sussex.

In the Middle Ages the chapelry at Plaistow was formed within this parish, which was replaced in 1853-1854 by Plaistow, Sussex.

The illustrated history of the parish Kirdford St john the Baptist

The parish church has been designated as a grade I listed BuildingBritish listed building

Kirdford Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also Kirdford wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

See alsoPetworth Registration District For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Kirdford, Sussex parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Kirdford, Sussex Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1569-1876 1558-1876
PRTS 1569-1901
1558-1900
1571-1900

Kirdford St John the Baptist

Baptisms 1571-1640 Marriages 157-1640 Burials 1571-1640  Bishop's Transcripts Baptisms  1569-1876 Marriages 1558-1876

Contact West Sussex Record Office 3 Orchard Street Chichester West Sussex
PO19 1DD
Phone: 01243 753602
Fax: 01243 533959
Email: records.office@westsussex.gov.uk

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Kirdford

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474672.


The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. 

Poor Law Unions

Petworth Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 689-692. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
  2. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 April 2014, at 18:55.
  • This page has been accessed 814 times.