Kirk Hammerton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.pngYorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kirk Hammerton

Guide to Kirk Hammerton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirk Hammerton, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Claro; York (Ansty)
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Great Ouseburn Gilbert Union PLU
Registration District Knaresborough; Tadcaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1714
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Boroughbridge
Diocese Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Eastern Deaneries - Boroughbridge
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

HAMMERTON, KIRK (St. John the Baptist), a parish, partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Claro, and partly in the E. division of Ainsty wapentake, W. riding of York, 1 mile (S. E. by S.) from Green-Hammerton. The parish consists of the townships of Kirk-Hammerton and Wilstrop. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online Records

Kirk Hammerton, Yorkshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
****PARISH NAME**** ##CHURCH OR PARISH## (1***) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1601-1872

1686-1869

1601-1872

JOIN None
1715-1837

None
AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

IARC None

None

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464251.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 387-391. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 2,065 times.