Kirk Sandall, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kirk Sandal, Yorkshire)

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes K-R Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Kirk Sandall

Guide to Kirk Sandall, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirk Sandall, Yorkshire
Kirk+Sandall St+Oswald Doncaster Yorkshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Doncaster PLU
Registration District Doncaster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1679
Bishop's Transcripts: 1603
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

The redundant church of St Oswald Kirk Sandall was an Ancient Parish which included Streetthorpe and Trumfleet. The church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust since being declared redundant in 1979. See Churches Conservation Trust

The church has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1679.

SANDALL, KIRK or LITTLE (St. Oswald), a parish, in the union of Doncaster, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York, 4¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Doncaster. [1]

See also St Oswald Church Kirk Sandall Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include

  • Church of England marriages.
  • Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
  • Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.

A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirk Sandall exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Internet Archive - free
FS = FamilySearch.org
AC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 KIRK SANDALL PARISH (1679) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1728-1848

1729-1837

None

JOIN None
1679-1754 & 1813-1837

None
AC None

None

None

HATH None

None

None

AO None

None

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464278.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,648 times.