Kirkandrew on Eden with Beaumont, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Kirkandrew on Eden with Beaumont, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkandrew on Eden with Beaumont, Cumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cumberland
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Carlisle PLU
Registration District Carlisle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677; Separate registers exist for Beaumont beginning 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1685; Separate records exist for Beaumont beginning 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

KIRK-ANDREWS-upon-Eden (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Carlisle, Cumberland ward, E. division of the county of Cumberland, 3¼ miles (W. N. W.) from Carlisle. The church was long ago demolished, and the ruins were used in the erection of a glebe-house; the inhabitants attend divine service at Beaumont, but bury in the churchyard here.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bishop's transcripts for Kirk-Andrews-upon-Eden, 1686, 1699-1812

Also see Beaumont.

Non-Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist Association

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kirkandrew on Eden on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 17:09.
  • This page has been accessed 656 times.