Kirkbampton, Cumberland GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Kirkbampton, Cumberland)

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Kirkbampton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Kirkbampton, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cumberland
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Wigton PLU
Registration District Wigton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1669
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BAMPTON, KIRK (St. Peter), a parish, in Cumberland ward, E. division of Cumberland, 6½ miles (W.) from Carlisle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Parish registers for Bampton-Kirk, 1695-1976

Bishop's transcripts for Bampton-Kirk, 1669-1873

Kirkbampton, Cumberland Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Kirkbampton, Cumberland Genealogy Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1669-1696


Non-Conformist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241280.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Kirkbampton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 6 August 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2015, at 14:31.
  • This page has been accessed 1,490 times.