Kirkby Ireleth, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Here is a List of Chapelries in Kirkby Ireleth Parish
Contents |
Parish History
Kirkby Ireleth St Cuthbert was an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire. Broughton in Furness, Lancashire is a chapelry of Kirkby Ireleth.
Other places in the parish include: Beanthwaite, Beckside, Chapel, Cross Beck, Gill Beck, Soutergate, Kirkby Moor, Low Quarter, Lower Quarter, Middle Quarter, Sandside, and Grisebeck.
The parish of Kirkby Ireleth is listed in the Domesday Book and is of Norse origin. Kirkby Ireleth is mentioned in the Domesday Book as one of the townships forming the Manor of Hougun held by Earl Tostig.
The modern name for Kirkby is Kirkby-in Furness. Kirkby-in-Furness is a village in the Furness area of Cumbria, England. It is about 5 km south of Broughton in Furness and 8 km northwest of Ulverston. It is one of the largest villages on the peninsula's north-western coast, looking out over the Duddon estuary and the mountains of the Lake District. Its borders are the biggest for a village in the UK.
Since 1974 the Furness area is part of Cumbria (historically Lancashire). the Parish is within the Diocese of Carlisle.
"KIRKBY-IRELETH St Cuthbert, a parish, in the union of Ulverston, hundred of Lonsdale north of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4½ miles northwest by west from Ulverston, and including separate chapels at Broughton-in-Furness, Seathwaite, and Woodland with Heathwaite, the township of Dunnerdale, the districts of Low-Quarter and Middle-Quarter, and the extra-parochial places of Waitham-Hill, Mosshouses, Marshfield, and Herdhouse. The parish is separated from that of Millom, in the county of Cumberland, by the river Duddon.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Kirkby Ireleth St Cuthbert Parish registers have mostly been transcribed and posted online at the following web sites:
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| KIRKBY IRELETH ST CUTHBERT PARISH (1681) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1697-1812 | None | None | ||
| LOPC | 1791-1838 | 1790-1838 | 1790-1838 | ||
| FMP | None | 1728-1837 | None | ||
| BROUGHTON IN FURNESS Chapelry (1634) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1665-1812 | 1662-1678, 1686, 1697-1812 | 1877-1896 | ||
| LOPC | 1796-1845 | 1796-1845 | 1796-1845 | ||
| FMP | None | 1662-1837 | None | ||
| FR | None | None | None | ||
| SEATHWAITE Chapelry (1684) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | 1684-1855 | 1737-1835 | 1737-1856 | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| FMP | None | 1737-1836 | None | ||
| WOODLAND WITH HEATHWAITE Chapelry (1735) Indexes | |||||
| |
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||
| FS | None | None | None | ||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||
| FMP | None | None | None | ||
Original Records
Original copies of the parish registers for Kirkby Ireleth St Cuthbert are held at the Cumbria Record Office, 140 Duke Street, Barrow-In-Furness, LA14 1XW.
In addition, the Family History Library, at FamilySearch in Salt Lake City, UT, U.S.A. also has microfilm copies of the originals and these may be circulated to any one of its 4,600 satellite FamilySearch Centres worldwide.
Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306905. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Ulverston Poor Law Union,Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 692-697. Adapted. Date accessed: 01 July 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 February 2013, at 05:03.
- This page has been accessed 470 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
