Kirkby Malhamdale, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Kirkby Malhamdale, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Kirkby Malhamdale, Yorkshire|
|Hundred||Staincliff and Ewcross|
|Poor Law Union||Settle PLU|
|Registration District||Settle; Skipton|
|Parish registers: 1754|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
KIRKBY-IN-MALHAM-DALE (St. James), a parish, in the union of Settle, wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, W. riding of York, 5½ miles (E. S. E.) from Settle. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Kirkby Malhamdale exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|KIRKBY MALHAMDALE ##CHURCH OR PARISH## (1590) Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464273.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 692-697. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- ↑ 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 10 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 15 October 2014, at 23:58.
- This page has been accessed 1,083 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki